Register · Login
About Theme

A Letterboxing Community

Help: Reserved

Help Home > Letterboxes > Reserved

  1. What is a reserved box?
  2. Do new box notifications go out after a conversion?
  3. Why can't I set all of the attributes for my box?
  4. How do I find a list of my reserved boxes?


What is a reserved box?


Some people like to pre-list their boxes. Some people want a box ID number they can list in their logbooks. Some people want to try listing a box to see how it works. And some people want to tweak their clues until things are just right before making their box live. And that's what a 'reserved' box allows you to do—list a 'box' before it becomes live for the rest of the world to see. It'll be assigned a box ID number just like any other letterbox, but it won't show up in searches or in your logbook. (You will see an option to view "reserved" boxes in your logbook, but only you can see your own reserved boxes. Nobody else will be able to.)

The reserved box can be listed just like any other box type from the Add Letterbox page—just select the reserved type.

When the box is ready to publish for the world to see, open the box details page for your reserved box and click the button to "Set Type." This converts the box from a 'reserved' type into any other letterbox type. Be careful, however. This conversion is permanent! You will not be able to undo the conversion, nor will you be able to change the box type to something else once it has been set.

Help Home > Letterboxes > Reserved


Do new box notifications go out after a conversion?


When you list a reserved box, there are no notifications sent out. So that begs the question, what happens when the box is converted into a real type and becomes 'live'? As part of the conversion process, Atlas Quest will set the official list date to the current date at the time of the conversion, so for all intents and purposes, it will be as if the box was fully listed on the day of the conversion. Box notifications will go out like you listed the box that day. It will show up in the newest boxes list. Searches that sort based on the list date will be sorted as if the box was added the day of the conversion. To the outside world, it looks like you listed the box like normal. There is absolutely nothing to indicate that the listing was ever first listed as a reserved box type.

Help Home > Letterboxes > Reserved


Why can't I set all of the attributes for my box?


The reserved type is just a place holder for a real letterbox, but the type of letterbox it really is is not yet specified. Until the box is converted into a real listing and a type selected, you will not be able to set any type-specific attributes or other information. You will have a chance to edit the type-specific information after the box has been converted. Here are some of the type-specific information that cannot be entered while the box is listed as a 'reserved' box:

Traditional: location, subtype, attributes, hike type
Postal: attributes
Virtual: stamp type (except the three standard hand-carved, custom-made, and store-bought options), attributes, solutions
Traveler: attributes
Cootie: attributes
LTC: attributes, edition
Event Box: attributes

Help Home > Letterboxes > Reserved


How do I find a list of my reserved boxes?


Reserved boxes will not show up in letterbox searches, but they will show up in your logbook. Make sure the action is set to Plants and the type is set to Reserved. The reserved type will only be available while viewing your own logbook—other people's reserved boxes cannot be viewed.

From there, the listing is like any other box listing. You can edit the listing, deleting the listing, or convert into an actual listing that other people can then view.

Help Home > Letterboxes > Reserved