Register · Login

A Letterboxing Community

Search Edit Search

Read Thread: Camp Grounds

Camp Grounds
Board: The Grateful Letterboxers!
Jan 30, 2019 7:15pm
Board
How do you get in the camp grounds if you are not staying there? I read somewhere that to get in the camp ground area you had to be staying there. Is this correct?

Also the day pass to park in the area for non residents is $10.00 a day correct and can it be used at other parking areas for other sites such as Goldsmith Woodlands and Ward Reservation.

When do you get the clues for new boxes? Is it wed? and where?

I am new to all of this, it will be my first time to the event.

Any info would be appreciated,

Echo
Re: Camp Grounds
Reply to: #970873 by Echo
Jan 30, 2019 7:35pm
Board
That all sounds correct. They may have reserved the group site, which you can add your name to and pay minimal.

We stay in a hotel but get a camp site for to have a place to park and get park entrance. Also a place to put boxes.

:-)

Be sure to join the Grateful Letterbox group. Reading older posts will also help.
Reply to: #970873 by Echo
Jan 31, 2019 2:14pm
Board
Hello, Echo.... Echo.........Echo.............Echo........
How do you get in the camp grounds if you are not staying there? I read somewhere that to get in the camp ground area you had to be staying there. Is this correct?

Yes, you technically need a site reservation, but they also allow visitors if you know a name and associated site #. Among other folks, you can visit Dawn in site #210 starting Sunday or myself (Pete) in site #305 starting Wednesday evening. The staff at the gatehouse is very friendly. Just smile, wave and don't be shy - wear your brightest tie-dye! Let them know you're a Grateful Letterboxer. They enjoy our creativity and will be well aware of our presence once again!!!