A Letterboxing Community

Search Edit Search

Read Thread: Distiguishing Pink stuff

Re: Distiguishing Pink stuff
Board: Stamp Carving and Mounting
Reply to: #806263 by Kirbert
Sep 20, 2013 4:15pm
Board
Which begs a question: who buys Speedy Cut and what do they use it for? Obviously letterboxers have shunned it since long before I started. But they keep making and selling the product, so it must be of some use to somebody out there.

K
Reply to: #806360 by Kelsung
Sep 20, 2013 4:19pm
Board
who buys Speedy Cut and what do they use it for?

Me. I bought it because the LTCs were due, I was out of material, Hobby Lobby was out of pink, and I HAD to carve something RIGHT THEN.

It's not the worst carve I ever did, but I have no plans to repeat the experience anytime soon!

This is what procrastination gets you!
Sep 20, 2013 4:32pm
Board
People who do block printing only need to use their wood blocks / stamps a limited number of times. Durability isn't really an issue when you're making 20 prints and then destroying the original :)
Reply to: #806363 by Aiphid
Sep 20, 2013 4:55pm
Board
{People who do block printing}

In our rounds into the art world we've run across block printing art. Of course art is in the eye of the beholder but I was surprised at the lack of . . . expertise in carving. It's a different style that is neat in itself, but some of it really is just poor. Some rubber carvers could definitely enter their work at the art galleries. Probably a lot of people on this board could. Yep!
Sep 22, 2013 6:44am
Board
Which begs a question: who buys Speedy Cut and what do they use it for?