A Letterboxing Community

Search

Read Messages

Re: new personal stamps
Board: Yakking It Up
Reply to: #976377 by coldsnap
Jun 15, 2019 4:43pm
Thread Board
I have been using the same pink eraser stamp for 17 years (though I don't find many boxes so it hasn't been used all that much). As long as it holds up, I'll keep using it for the same reason you stated: I'm attached to it.

I did carve a fancier one years ago and I think I used it on a couple of postal letterboxes, but it didn't feel authentic. I don't even know where it is now.

You could always carve another stamp and try it out. Maybe it will feel more "you" than the old one. If not, just go back to your original. :)
Re: BTOTP!!!
Board: State: Ohio
Reply to: #976372 by Public Hand
Jun 15, 2019 5:04pm
Thread Board
So well said. Thanks to not only our fabulous hosts, GypsyLadybug and Cookie Cutter, but also all the extra hands involved. I thank you, and my grandchildren thank you for all the clowny fun we are going to have together!
Jun 15, 2019 5:15pm
Thread Board
Do you guys ever re-cut yours? I made mine three years ago, the very first stamp I ever did, out of a pink eraser using an old blunt x-acto knife. I've gotten a LOT better at linocuts and I like the artform a lot! (Thanks letterboxing!) But I still feel kinda attached to my first one ever.

My first two carves were on pink erasers; I wanted to try out carving before I committed to using other material. I used an X-acto knife, but not a blunt one. My first carve was for a geocaching letterbox hybrid, which is too far from any landmarks (except sagebrush) to list here; it must be found using a GPSr.

My second carve was my (first) signature stamp. However, I used it enough that it had lost too much detail. I still have it though. I keep it with the other carves of my signature stamps. They are all the same image because I started with an idea I like and I haven't come up with anything I like better.