A Letterboxing Community

Search

Read Messages

Re: The Critics and Questioners
Board: Traditional Letterboxes
Reply to: #58439 by The Wolf Family
Dec 23, 2006 12:42pm
Thread Board
Quote hmm, what about a little common courtesy? I've written to ask for more help with clues, and received replies that confirmed I was in the right area, which is helpful but not giving anything new. A newbie might need just a little encouragement. Sometimes a box is actually missing, or the planter is MIA. I think that it is important to give a reply, but you don't need to add anything to your clues. It's the matter of communication that is worthy, even if it's a pat reply "thanks for the update" or "message received, thank you. recheck the clues" or "sorry, have nothing new for you."

oh, and the sender of the e-mail can find out when you have read your mail, it shows up as read in your sent mail box!
SS
Reply to: #58425 by Lock Wench
Dec 23, 2006 12:48pm
Thread Board
As an artist, I just wanted to add a couple of thoughts...

Quote Because they give of themselves with their valuable time and thought and money, it is sometimes hard to take criticism.

When you put your art out for public consuption, you should expect criticism. Yes, you read that correctly. EXPECT criticism. Everyone's a critic. Sometimes it's good, sometimes it's bad, but art is, in large part, specifically designed to elicit response from the observer. It's what drives a great many of us to create.