Apr 8, 2016 6:01am
Thread
This is definitely me!
Re: Fellow non/beginner carvers!
Board: Letterbox Chatter
Reply to: #923883 by crosscresent
Apr 8, 2016 12:29pm
Thread
Wonderful! Do you think you will plant them soon? Or are you keeping them for your own use? Just wondering, I'm new at this too and took me a while to part with my artistic creations but now that I did I'm excited to share with future finders!
Re: Fellow non/beginner carvers!
Reply to: #923833 by dingus dufus
Apr 8, 2016 12:34pm
Thread
Interested!
Re: Staedtler Carving Set
Reply to: #923767 by Elle
Apr 8, 2016 12:43pm
Thread
Don't listen to anyone. Wait for the antiques roadshow to come through.
Re: Staedtler Carving Set
Reply to: #923767 by Elle
Apr 8, 2016 1:35pm
Thread
Wow, good going Ele! Looking forward to finding more of your boxes! ;-)
Re: Old logbooks
Reply to: #923959 by Early Risers
Apr 9, 2016 1:50pm
Thread
To my mind, the three ways of leaving notes are to three different audiences. The public online log is to others who may decide to hunt this box in the future. The private online comment is to the box planter and owner. And notes in the physical log book in the box are to the people who find the box after me. That may not be the original intent when letterboxing first started out, but it's the scheme that makes the most sense to me now -- especially as I, myself, often plant letterboxes that I have little hope of ever revisiting. Even the boxes I've planted locally are lucky to get revisited once a year, so if you want me to get your message in a timely manner the online log is a better idea.

I also confess that, when logging a find, I often resort to the old adage "If you can't say something nice, say nothing at all." Let's face it, not all boxes are pearls, and sometimes I'm so disappointed I have to bite my tongue.
Reply to: #923960 by Kirbert
Apr 9, 2016 5:02pm
Thread
Like Mom says, "Just say, 'Thank you.' and then, be quiet. haha
Apr 9, 2016 5:35pm
Thread